Skip to content

The Sound of Rain

People love to romanticize the process of writing, but in reality, it is hard work. It takes a lot of discipline and determination. Sometimes, writers even have to squeeze the words out–contrary to what other people think that words always come out like water from a faucet. Don’t get me wrong, there is a delicious joy in writing, and part of it is when words are hard to find. I have a favorite trick whenever this happens to me, and I’d like to share it with you.

I love rain. The sound of rain always makes me feel thoughtful. When it’s time to write and I can feel that my writing voice is not coming, I listen to the sound of rain. There are many places you can find this, YouTube is just one. I have a few downloaded tracks that I listen to when I need help in writing. Sometimes, when the setting is not ideal, I play a “picture-in-picture” YouTube video of a peaceful writing setting like the one seen below. I then imagine myself writing in the woods. It always works like magic. I created a playlist of some of my favorites, I hope it helps anyone struggling to write.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

